Music for All is very honored to have Dr. Joseph Flummerfelt serve as the conductors’ clinician for the National Choir Festival. “It was exciting that Music for All decided to launch a National Choir Festival in Indianapolis last year. I was very pleased to have been asked to be a part of what proved to be a very successful first year, and I look forward to continuing to play a role in the life of the festival this year and in the years ahead.” –Joseph Flummerfelt

Enjoy a live interview with Joseph Flummerfelt:

Notable excerpts; If he could meet one composer it would be “Brahms!” and his favorite works include “Brahms Requiem, Beethoven Missa Solemnis, Bach B Minor Mass, Verdi Requiem, Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms, and Britten War Requiem.”

The University of Louisville Cardinal Singers under the direction of Kent Hatteberg will perform at the 2019 National Festival opening ceremony, and in concert at St. John’s Church.

Founded in 1970, the University of Louisville Cardinal Singers continue their outreach by offering workshops, performing, and competing internationally. They have performed at nine regional and national choral conventions, and recent international highlights include winning Grand Prize at the 2018 Zadar International Choir Competition in Croatia and feature performances at the 2017 Xi’an International Choral Festival in China. Hatteberg is also founder of the semi-professional Louisville Chamber Choir.

“After the highly successful launch of the Music for All National Choir Festival in 2018, we are looking forward to a fabulous 2019 Festival. I hope you will strongly consider giving this wonderful opportunity to your students. I can’t wait to hear and work with more amazing choirs in 2019. If you haven’t registered for 2020 yet, please do so at Your students will thank you for it.” -Kent Hatteberg

Flummerfelt and Hatteberg join André Thomas, John Byun, Lynda Hasseler, Jason Max Ferdinand, Karen Kennedy, Brandon Boyd, Stacey V. Gibbs, and Artistic Director, Henry Leck to complete the 2019 National Choir Festival artistic panel.