Ashley-PetersonName:  Ashley Peterson

Position:  Accounting Assistant

Hometown:  Born and raised in Lexington and Richmond, Kentucky, but have lived in Greenfield, IN for the past 11 years.

How long have you been with MFA?

Almost 8 whole months! I began at the end of January.

What is your educational background?  Where did you go to school, and what did you study?

I received my Associates degree for accounting from Ivy Tech, and I am currently studying for my Bachelors at Indiana Wesleyan University.

What is your musical background?  (What instruments have you played? Played in groups or bands? Just enjoy music in general?)

Since I was about 8 years old, I’ve played piano. I’ve gotten rusty over the years, but I still get excited when a piano is in front of me and I have the opportunity to play, or just mess around. I’ve also played acoustic guitar (although I’m not very good at it) and I was in choir in high school. I still enjoy singing, but it seems to only happen when I’m in the car or hanging out with friends now!

What kind of music do you like to listen to?

I enjoy a wide variety of music. I’ll listen to anything and give it a chance. I mainly listen to the top 40 pop/rock type stations, and country.  But I have to admit, if I had to choose one artist or band to call my favorite, it would definitely be the Backstreet Boys! I’ve been a huge fan since they started out, and always will be. I actually finally got the chance to go to a sound check and meet them in August. Best day of my life!!

Why is music important to you?

Music is my therapy. No matter what mood I’m in, excited or upset, I can always find something to listen to that will either keep that great feeling going, or cheer me up.

Why do you believe in music education?

I truly believe that anyone and everyone deserves the opportunity to have music in their lives.  Whether you are playing an instrument, or just someone in the audience enjoying listening, music education makes this possible.

What sort of things do you do in your free time (hobbies)?

I usually just enjoy hanging out with friends, even if we’re just sitting around chatting.  Besides that, I love swimming and doing jigsaw puzzles. I also like to do crafty things, but they never turn out the way I had hoped!

What led you to Music for All?

Well, I had been working temporary positions for nearly a year, and I feel like I just kind of got lucky. When I heard about it, I was thrilled with the idea of working for such an amazing organization, and now here I am!

What do you enjoy the most about working for Music for All?

I enjoy being able to work with a group of people who are so dedicated to what the organization stands for. It makes for such a great work environment when everyone loves his or her job, coworkers, etc. You don’t see that often.

What is your favorite Music for All event, and why?

The only events I have worked so far is National Festival and Summer Symposium.  It was overwhelming, but I loved it.  It makes you feel good inside when you see all those students having such a great time. I look forward to experiencing the fall events.

What’s one interesting thing about yourself that some on staff may not be aware of?
Since I’ve only been around a few months, I’ll give a few little facts.

I am the oldest of 7 kids (and 2 cousins lived with us growing up, as well). Also, my mom was 1 of 10, and just on her side of the family, I have around 40 cousins. Things at home/family get togethers are never boring! I love animals, specifically dogs. But the most interesting pets I’ve ever owned were sugar gliders.